CoonDawgs.com Coonhound Classifieds and Message Forum

It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 6:11 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:12 am 
IP:
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth

I have no experience with breeding. The only information I have is what I have read on this site in the last few days. I understand that the most important thing with breeding is that the breed needs to stay strong. I have read posts on this site about line breeding, cross breeding, and inbreeding. I must admit that because I don't "speak the language" it kind of gets confusing. So I would like to explain my situation and get some opinions from you guys here if my pups would help or hurt the name.

I have UKC redbones.

My gyp is going to be 3 in April. I bought her a year ago in Dec. I made the big rookie mistake of buying without seeing the dog in action or knowing the owners. Turns out that she is/was gun shy and worse terrified of coons. When I shoot her a coon down she will jump on it and make sure its dead but after she gets a good mouth full, she drops it and turns her back to it and kind of shakes. I can assume that at a young age she had a bad experience. This dog has great heart and loves to hunt and is fast on the track. She is trashy and loves to chase rabbits, fox, and opossum. We are making progress on breaking trash. When I hunt her with another dog I let her go after the first strike and she runs right in there and is usually the first to the tree. She stops barking when their is no more track, leaves to find another track, and is shortly back to running another track. She wants nothing to do with treeing.