CoonDawgs.com Coonhound Classifieds and Message Forum

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:31 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 2:58 pm 
IP:
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth

I am no expert by any means when it comes to hounds, but I thought I would make a journal of my do it yourself training with my dog. I have always wanted to hunt over hounds as a kid, but never had a chance. I grew up in rural Nevada, and have since moved to the city after graduating college. I have always been an avid archery hunter, and a big time trapper. Now that I'm finally a home owner I was able to convince my non-pet friendly wife to allow me to get a hound pup.

I didn't really convince her. I bugged her so much about it that she said out of frustration to just get the dog, with the hopes that I would see her frustration and not do it. Haha four hours later I was on my way home with my Redtick hound pup Ginger (red hair and freckles so I couldn't resist). This is the picture I sent my wife on the way home.

Join the forum today and remove this ad!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:27 pm 
IP:
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth

When I first started asking about hound hunting, most people told me it was impossible to do without already trained hounds to teach it. I got my dog for $25 and there was no way I could afford a $1000 dog to train my pup. They guy I got the dog from said he trains his puppies alone and doesn't run them with other dogs until they prove they can hunt alone so I knew it was possible.

I read up everything I could on training hounds, and emailed a few houndsmen and they all had different ideas, but the one thing they had in common was let the puppy be a puppy and make sure you work on obedience before anything else and take her out as much as I can. So that's what I did. I made sure to take her hiking in places where she could learn how to cross water, jump logs, go through fences, and climb rocks. Here's our first hike together the day after I got her.