CoonDawgs.com Coonhound Classifieds and Message Forum

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:11 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:22 am 
IP:
BANNED
BANNED

is there any advantage to keeping ones dogs off the ground while in the kennel? i've seen kennels built like a deck but with a roof on it. the dog house and kennel is under the roof and on a deck. the reason i'm asking is, i have access to some trex, plastic decking, and thought if i was going to build a deck style kennel i would go with the synthetic decking becasue of low maintenance and ease of cleaning.
all in all, would it be better to use a concrete slab?

Join the forum today and remove this ad!
 Post subject: no experience with
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:32 am 
IP:
Bawl Mouth
Bawl Mouth

I have no experience with off the ground kennels. It is my opinion that concrete can cause a dog's pads to be sore. I think you may be onto a good thing. The synthetic decking is something that has been going through my mind for kennels as well. I was thinking about bolting that to some treated 4x4's do they make 4x4's outa that synthetic stuff??

Post subject: Re: no experience with
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:41 am 
IP:
Loose Mouth
Loose Mouth

parkerhillskennels wrote:
. I was thinking about bolting that to some treated 4x4's do they make 4x4's outa that synthetic stuff??

Yes Trex makes 4x4's,however they are not for structual(sp) support.They are only for handrail post that bear no load.I Use to work for Trex.When I left Trex there was talk of developing Trex lumber that could bear loads,but to my knowledge there is none at this time.

Profile  WWW
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:01 am 
IP:
Loose Mouth
Loose Mouth