CoonDawgs.com Coonhound Classifieds and Message Forum

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 2:52 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 8:56 am 
IP:
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth

I have two 1 year old male redbone puppies and I would like to know how to get them to toughen up. They both are pretty good in the woods, but the one just wants to play all the time until they find sent. My dad says I just have to wait until they catch a coon on the ground, but I feel like that could really hurt them because they are only a year old. These are my first coonhounds and I'm very new to the sport. Any suggestions?

Join the forum today and remove this ad!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 3:10 pm 
IP:
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth

Once it's legal to do so, shoot one out with plenty of life still in him. When he hits the ground he'll put up a good fight which should make them that much more eager to get after the next one. Couple of these and you should be fine.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:57 pm 
IP:
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth

Thanks

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:28 am 
IP:
Tight Mouth
Tight Mouth

I agree shoot one down but be careful it doesn't have too much fight in it. Or I'll take a caged coon and that is acting timid and put a round or two in it then let it out of the cage for the pup to chase. I try not to just let them at an aggressive coon. That's how they get torn up. You have to ease them into it. Once they actually start killing the coon not just playing with it that's when I let them fight it out. I praise them when they go for the head and neck and just ignore them when they are playing with it. They tend to get the idea. Then again I like hounds that come on a little slower. Personally I think they make better dogs in the end.

Profile  WWW
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:23 am 
IP:
Tight Mouth
Tight Mouth